Panchot and Palazzola Head For Spain With id2 National Squad

USclubsoccer-id2-national-selection-tourThe 18-player roster for US Club Soccer’s 2012 id2 National Selection International Tour has departed for their February 17-27 journey to Spain, where the team will face FC Barcelona and Atlético Madrid, as well as a combined match against RCD Espanyol and UE Cornellà.

The squad includes a pair of St Louis players, from the St Louis Scott Gallagher U15 Elite squad. Defender A.J. Palazzolo (O’Fallon, MO) and MF Logan Panchot (Lafayette)

Described as a team of the best 18 boys born in 1998-99 from the fall 2011 id2 Program Training Camp, the players will experience the day-to-day culture of some of the world’s most well-known professional clubs while also improving themselves via high-level training and game competition. Here’s the schedule:

• Sun., Feb. 19 | vs. UE Cornellà & RCD Espanyol
UE Cornellà Stadium | 8:50 a.m. CET (1:50 a.m. CT)

• Tue., Feb. 21 | at FC Barcelona
Ciutat Esportiva Joan Gamper | 7 p.m. CET (12 p.m. CT)

• Thu., Feb. 23 | vs. Atlético Madrid
Ciudad del Fútbol | 8 p.m. CET (1 p.m. CT)

A total of 15 clubs and 11 states are represented on the roster. The squad will conduct training sessions and experiencing the day-to-day culture of some of the world’s most well-known professional clubs. The players will have the opportunity to see some of Spain’s largest cities, including Barcelona and Madrid.

Here are some video highlights from the 2011 tour

%d bloggers like this: