Inaugural Hall of Fame Inductees Announced by MSHSSCA

Tim Walters, Lafayette and Terry Michler, CBC following CBC's Sectional win

Tim Walters, Lafayette and Terry Michler, CBC following CBC’s Sectional win

The Missouri State High School Soccer Coaches Association (MSHSSCA) has announced its first class of Hall of Fame inductees. CBC coach and boys national high school soccer wins leader Terry Michler highlights the 2013 Inaugural MSHSSCA Hall of Fame Class.

Trinity’s Vince Drake has a Missouri record ten state titles and along with Oakville’s Dave Robben have each won over 1,000 high school games between boys and girls soccer careers, while DeSmet’s Greg Vitello has over 700 boys wins and five state championships. Villa won seven titles during a dominant Vianney run in the 1980’s and 90’s. Posthumous inductees Ebbie Dunn and Bob Horgan were prominent coaches in the St. Louis early days while building SLUH and CBC, respectively, into national powerhouses. St. Joe’s Academy’s Maureen McVey has long been a successful girls coach in the state and is on the National Federation Soccer Advisory Committee, while Howell North’s Vince Nowak, who retired two years ago, was a consistent winner and tireless worker and promoter of the game within the state and the NSCAA. Sacred Heart’s Rich Bahner gets in based on his long and successful career at the small school in “out-state” Missouri. Lee’s Summit North’s Tim Richardson also makes the cut for his work building elite teams on the Kansas City side.

The inductees, selected by the MSHSSCA Hall of Fame Committee (Mike Howard, Rolla – Chair) will be honored at the first MSHSSCA Boys Soccer Banquet and Hall of Fame Induction January 5, 2013 at the Cherry Hill Center in Columbia. Details and reservations for the luncheon can be found at: Final Registration date – December 23rd!!

The Inductees:

Terry Michler (CBC) – 870 wins Leads all high school coaches in the country. 7 titles in 42 years and was named National Coach of the Year in 2011.

Vince Drake (Trinity) – 730 boys wins, 308 girls, 44 years (11 titles)

Greg Vitello (DeSmet) – 735 wins, 40 years (5 titles)

Ebbie Dunn (SLUH) – 592 wins, 28 years, (2 titles) (deceased)

Bob Horgan (CBC/Affton)- 571 wins, 28 years (1 title) (deceased)

Maureen McVey (St. Joseph’s Academy) – 501 wins, 27 years (4 titles)

Dave Robben (Oakville) – 469 boys wins, 548 girls wins in 34 years (2 title)

Mike Villa (Vianney) – 668 wins, 7 state titles before moving to Triad (IL) H.S.

Vince Nowak (Francis Howell North)- 405 boys wins in 24 seasons

Rich Bahner (Sedalia Sacred Heart)- 359 wins in 26 seasons; 36 girls wins in 6 seasons. Here’s a story from the Sedalia News-Journal.

Tim Richardson (Lee’s Summit North)- 434 boys wins in 27 seasons and 291 in girls in 16 seasons, several final fours and two state girls championships.

• Note: Not all records are up-to-date after the 2012 season. Updated bios will be sent out to the media before the banquet.

%d bloggers like this: