North Girls Win MAC All-Star Game

2014-06-28 MAC St Louis Senior Girls High School Soccer All-Stars match at Soccer Park

Brigette Reilly of Duchesne

The MAC High School Senior All-Star game held on Saturday finished 1-0 in the North’s favor on a goal by Duchesne’s Brigette Reilly in the second half. Brigitte was named the North MVP for her play while Alli Magaletta of St Joe was named MVP of the South squad. Alli will play at Mizzou in the Fall.

With the win, the North side holds a 15-11-4 lead in the all-time series.

In addition, St Dominic GK Megan Swanson, headed for Quincy University, was named the Sam Copple Goalkeeper of the Year while Amy Brown of St Charles West was awarded a $1000 college scholarship which she will use at Butler this Fall.

The Post-Dispatch was on hand for the story

Reilly, a Missouri State signee, knocked a shot that bounded past Haberberger and into the net with 27 minutes, 48 seconds, left to make it 1-0.

“I didn’t really think it was going in at first,” said Reilly of the shot. “The goalie looked like she lost balance. I realized it was going in and it was awesome.”

The South had a pair of final threats in the closing minutes but Zumwalt South and North team goalkeeper Lauren Breshears was up to task.

Greg Koeller, Head Coach of St Dominic was joined by Mark Olwig of Howell North for the Girls South squad.

Girls North Squad
# Name Position High School College
0 Megan Swanson GK St. Dominic Quincy
0 Lauren Breshears GK Fort Zumwalt South Kansas
1 Mariana Alisio M Ladue Washington University
2 Amy Brown M St. Charles West Butler
3 Sarah Gerwel M Rosati-Kain Truman State
4 Julia Gubicya D Trinity Louisiana State-Alexandria
5 Kaley Hill F Hazelwood West Lewis and Clark Community
6 Katie Kienstra M Incarnate Word Arkansas
7 Kerri Morris F Fort Zumwalt West Drury
8 Kelsey Murphy M Incarnate Word Truman State
9 Brigitte Reilly F Duchesne Missouri State
10 Sarah Botteron M John Burroughs Lafayette
11 Erin Kelly F Francis Howell North Culver Stockton
12 Megan Oostendorp D Francis Howell North Truman State
13 Molly Ream M St. Dominic Saint Louis University
14 Mackenzie Rief F St. Dominic Quincy
15 Sydni Young D St. Dominic Missouri – Kansas City
16 Julia Larson M St Charles West Missouri State
17 Sydney Doherty M Holt Milliken

Maureen McVey of St Joseph and Dick Westbrook of Visitation will helm the Girls South squad

Girls South Squad
# Name Position High School College
0 Mary Niehaus GK Nerinx Hall Saint Louis University
0 Tina Haberberger GK Oakville Drury
1 Bailey Greubel D Nerinx Hall Quincy
2 Christina Hovatter D St. Pius X Illinois at Chicago
3 Stephanie Hulett D Rockwood Summit UMSL
4 Natalie Sims D St. Joseph's Fordham
5 Jenna Vaught M Francis Howell Arkansas State
6 Peyton Bowe F Nerinx Hall William Jewell
7 Ella Burrows D Eureka Rockhurst
8 Claire Dmuchovsky M Rockwood Summit Alabama
9 Ciarra Fitter F Seckman Drury
10 Elizabeth Hopkins M Visitation Mercer
11 Alli Magaletta M St. Joseph’s Missouri
12 Alysa Manwill M Parkway West Illinois-Springfield
13 Kelly Miller F Cor Jesu Illinois State
14 Kaley Nieters F St. Joseph's Iowa State
15 Sarah Price F Visitation Arkansas
16 Natalie Quisenberry M Lafayette Quincy
17 Nina Simon D St. Joseph's Arkansas State
18 Meredith Sinak M Ursuline Stetson
%d bloggers like this: