Three Recognized as NSCAA All-Midwest Soccer


Sam Leach of CBC and Jack Klinger of DeSmet are NSCAA All-Midwest players

The 2016 Boys NSCAA All-American and All-Midwest Soccer selections have been named. As noted in earlier stories, Connor Lonero of CBC and Billy Hency of Rockwood Summit were named All-Americans.

There are three players from the St. Louis region who have been named to the All-Midwest squad. Apologies to Osvaldo Guererro for the lack of a picture, still haven’t gotten all my Howell North pictures edited.

Player School Position Grad Year
Jack Klingler DeSmet Spartans MF 2017
Sam Leach CBC Cadets MF 2017
Matthew Smith Rockhurst Hawks D 2017
Johnny Klein Rock Bridge Bruins MF 2018
Osvaldo Guererro Howell North Knights D 2017
Cole Miesner Lee's Summit West MF 2017
Josh Scholl Jackson Indians F 2017
Jason Puente Monett Cubs F 2019

Jack Klingler was the acknowledged leader of a a senior-laden Spartan team, wearing the #10 shirt and while playing in a defensive midfield role in front of one of the best back lines in the area. His two way play both started the Spartans play and frustrated the opponents. Klingler led the Spartans in points this season with 19, from 7 goals and 5 assists. He also led in Game winning goals with 3.

Sam Leach was the attacking midfielder for the Cadet’s, another #10 with exquisite skills and strong unspoken connections with his front two – Nick Dempster and EJ Verhulst – that offered some of the finest ball movement found on the high school pitch this season. He got off 64 shots, second only to Dempster (100) and found the net 13 times while dishing out 5 assists. His 31 points were only exceeded by Dempster (37) for the Cadets. Four game winning goals (Dempster – 5) all point to his overall value to the team. Check out my feature on Sam for more.

Osvaldo Guererro rejoined the Knights for his senior year, following two years with the SLSG Academy program. He centered a defense that recorded 10 shutouts. The Post-Dispatch featured him prior to the Class 4 semifinals.

In addition to the player recognition, the following Coaches were recognized for their accomplishments.

2016 Missouri Boys NSCAA Coach of the Year
Private – Luther Schmidt, St. Paul Lutheran
Large Public – Chris Kappler, Rockwood Summit
Small Public – Ryan Robertson, Maplewood-Richmond Heights

%d bloggers like this: